My Best Work in Social Studies and Science

Hi, it’s hmsmarim,

Today I’ll be talking about my best work in Social Studies and Science. My best work might not be my best work later on, but that’s what it is for now.

 

I think my best work in Social Studies is my Ancient China notes. I think that is my best work because I wrote good notes to study from.

Ancient China

  1. Location
  • Eastern Portion of Asia
  • The 3rd largest country in the world
  • Biggest population
  • Yellow River
  • River of Sorrow: causes flooding and death
  • River provides water for humans, animals, and crops
  1. Early Civilization
  • The first Chinese to cultivate crops and domesticate animals
  • They also buried their dead in pottery jars
  • The Cishan established a dynasty to rule the empire
  1. Main Cities
  • Dynasties were established by major rivers
  • The rivers provided, trade, water, communication, and transportation
  1. Desserts
  • Ancient China was bordered by two of the world’s largest deserts, which are the Gobi Desert to the north and northwest and the Taklamakan Desert to the west
  • Provides protection, but they also made hard for the empire to expand
  1. Himalayas
  • Several vast mountain changes
  • The Chinese were very successful until they got to the Himalaya Mountain
  • The Himalayan Mountains constitute the world’s highest mountain range
  1. Nomads from the North
  • Nomads are members of a group that have no permanent home
  • The northern nomads were excellent horsemen who used early forms of stirrups and other equipment to control their horses
  • Allowed them to fight better with horses/horsemen
  • The Great wall was for keeping invaders from the north
  1. Trade Network
  • The same geographic elements that protected China from outside forces also made trade by overland routes extremely difficult
  • Because the land mounts were limited, hey had to use sea routes to expand their trade
  • Cultural exchanges were also limited by ancient China’s geographical barriers
  • This limited the areas where the Chinese could trade

Confucius

  • Lead him to believe that people we would be good by virtue
  • If you are honest with each other and respect them then you are their friend
  • Because of Confucius, so the government would treat people the right people that were only honest and respectful
  • Taoism was found by the Laozi
  • Taoism was the way to live
  • Balance in harmony is the Yin (is bad) Yang (is good)

Qin Dynasty

  • The Qin Dynasty set up a government based on districts so the emperor had an easier time with the empire
  • This is copied by other governments later
  • He expanded China which is now big and powerful, he tried the same with Korea, Japan, and Vietnam
  • Wudi united China under a central government based on Confucianism and expanded into Vietnam and Korea through trade

Those were my notes that I took.

My best work in Science would have to be Marble Run 1, 2, 3, or4. I chose that because we had to work in teams of 3 or 4 and my group was hmskailey and hmsryden. Marble Run is where you build a roller coaster out of tape and foam pipes.

I took a picture of this for an assignment in Science

That’s it for today!

hmsmarim

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *